Virender Sehwag Inducted into ICC Hall of Fame

Virender Sehwag Inducted into ICC Hall of Fame

November 13, 2023

Former Indian cricketer Virender Sehwag has been inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame, the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced on Monday. Sehwag is one of three new inductees for the Class of 2023, along with Sri Lankan all-rounder Aravinda de Silva and Indian women’s cricketer Diana Edulji.

Sehwag is one of the most destructive batsmen in the history of cricket, known for his aggressive and attacking style of play. He played 104 Tests, 251 ODIs, and 19 T20Is for India, scoring 8,586 runs in Tests, 8,273 runs in ODIs, and 394 runs in T20Is. He also holds the record for the fastest triple-century in Test cricket.

Sehwag was a key member of the Indian team that won the 2007 T20 World Cup and the 2011 ODI World Cup. He was also named the ICC Cricketer of the Year in 2010.

In a statement, Sehwag said that he was “honored and humbled” to be inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame. He thanked his family, friends, teammates, and coaches for their support throughout his career.

“This is a dream come true for me,” Sehwag said. “I never thought that I would be inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame. This is a testament to the hard work and dedication of everyone who has helped me along the way.”

The ICC Hall of Fame is the highest individual honor in cricket. It was established in 2009 to recognize the greatest players in the history of the game.

Sehwag’s induction into the ICC Hall of Fame is a fitting tribute to one of the most exciting and entertaining batsmen to ever play the game. He is an inspiration to millions of cricket fans around the world, and his legacy will continue to inspire future generations of cricketers.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Shopping cart